Business / Communication / Leadership

An Idea That Took Off


Wow. I knew this would be interesting, but I didn’t expect this.

I started a blog as a demonstration site for some clients, but it has turned into a blog people are following.

I encourage clients to scrapbook great ideas — meaning ideas that inspire them — when they are surfing the web. We all want to be inspired, especially when we are stuck. You never know when some idea is going to strike you and help you overcome your next obstacle. But you don’t want to leave that to chance. That is why you should scrapbook the great ideas you find as you read them.

I don’t suggest you try to grab everything that creates emotion. I want to urge you to, as the late Jim Rohn used to say, “Don’t let your learning lead to knowledge; let it lead to action!” I scrapbook looking for ideas that intrigue me and could inspire me to action consistent with my purpose and major interests in life.

The idea behind this project, as I teach it to clients, is to find at least one article that inspires you each day and save it. You could just grab the link and go (I have done that for a while in my personal scrapbook), but that doesn’t necessarily give you context. So, why not write a short summary about the article and what inspired or impressed you. There are two benefits to this:

  • You will remember later why you like the article. If you have some text, it can be searched. You might also tag and categorize, making your retrieval even easier.
  • Sometimes articles become unavailable. While lots of sites are now built on blogging software, and they want the pages accessible and available for SEO purposes, sites do disappear. Some content providers, such as some news organizations, are trying to monetize their sites and eventually move content to paid areas that you might not have access to in the future,

Therefore, putting a reminder on your post will help you stay inspired even if the content is no longer available.

Additionally, I encourage clients to create links to the content because that serves as a way to credit the author should you ever use your inspirations as material for other works. Authors like credit. You would want others to give you credit for your ideas, wouldn’t you?

I will be maintaining Leaderclip, trying to post something every day, or so. It is easier to summarize and briefly comment on other’s work than come up with new blog posts, after all. I will also be using material I post there as inspiration for my other this blog and the one on my company website, Dwayne Baptist and Associates. After all, one reason I look for the topics that are covered in this blog is to find inspiration for writing those blogs and my newsletter.

If you are also moved by the things that interest me, you will have a great time reading Leaderclip. If you also write about topics covered in this blog, please leave a comment and I will check you out. If you say something that inspires me, I might just make note of it on Leaderclip, too!

2 thoughts on “An Idea That Took Off

  1. Dwayne,

    You’ve done a great job building a platform that is useful for professionals of all ages! As a young professional, I really appreciate the wisdom you share and the great articles you curate. Keep it up!

  2. Pingback: The Kids Are All Right! | Leading in the 21st Century

Leave a Reply

