Leadership

Pardon my “Radio Silence…”


Radio: Microphone and TowerI want to apologize to my regular readers for being silent at this site for the last month. The good news is that we have been very busy and productive. But, we haven’t been sharing this journey with you. So, let me bring you up to date.

I am excited to report that my team and I have been busy migrating my web site, www.dbaptist.com from a static HTML site to a more dynamic format leveraging the WordPress engine. Yes, that very same engine that supports this venerable blogging site (wordpress.com) is now being used to power my own site.

I suppose this is something of a non-event, and some might wonder why I even mention it in a leadership blog. Well, As John Maxwell says, “Leadership is influence; nothing more, nothing less.” Having a static web site doesn’t give your visitors any reason to come back. Most people aren’t technical geniuses and don’t really know how to keep their content dynamic. Tools such as WordPress, Drupal, and others can help you get the structure you need without having to be a computer expert. They allow you to focus on the content, leaving the technical stuff to the system.

Some may ask, “isn’t that a bit confining?” My reply is something that the sage Samuel Johnson said many years ago, “Within our discipline we have total freedom.”

My goal is to share information that adds value to others, especially leaders and those who aspire to leadership. I can invest my time in creating content, or I can invest my time creating a whole web site. WordPress allows me to focus on what is important to me and not get lost in the details, or get slowed down and not produce content because I’m focusing on infrastructure.

We still have a way to go, in terms of getting dynamic content fully infused throughout the site, but we are rolling now. I will continue to blog here, but you will also be able to see the blog at dbaptist.com shortly, too.

So, as you can see, even this post is about leadership, and making changes so that you can grow. Maxwell calls that the Law of Process.

Leave a Reply

